An American Dream

Broken Lamp Shade, Turned Awesome.

Whats that? My favorite lamp was broke by my lamp hating husband? OH NO, WHY? WHY? LORD NO!!!!!!

Well, after I was able to accept the fact my lamp had passed on. I started thinking. The shade mounting hardware was long gone. So I clipped off the last chunk of metal that was hanging on and had this still sort of good lamp shade in my hands. I just could not see throwing it away. I loved it. As it just so happened I had this funky pendent light in the breakfast nook that looked like a flying saucer. On top of that, the bulb hung out and burned a hole in your eyes during breakfast.  Hummm, A cheap idea is a brewing……

I didn’t have the money to run out and buy the light I had wanted to replace this one with. But I had a broken shade with little fabric tabs inside the drum. I also had some ribbon I liked. I took the ribbon and tied 3 equal strips to the shade through the tabs on the lamp shade. Then took the ribbon and tied it to the top of the pendents rod. Made a little bow and done! Took all of 15 minutes, and no money. Looks like new.

 

There you have it. Cute, cheap, and easy.

One response

  1. Loving the information on this web site , you have done outstanding job on the posts .

    April 7, 2012 at 2:27 am

Leave a Reply

