An American Dream

Dressing A Dresser

Merry Christmas to me! Yes, my husband asked what I wanted this year so I told him. I want another project, an old dresser, and what I need to refinish it. So that’s what I got. I spent a few weeks looking on craigslist for one made of solid wood, large and with plenty of detail and not over 100$. You know, the heavy 1970’s over the top wood carving is always a plus.  I found an ad and sent the e-mail. 24 hours & 75 bucks later I had this in my bedroom.

Camera 360

Okay, lets talk about the elephant on the dresser. Yes, that’s one ugly mirror hutch! Huge, dark, all the glory of the 70’s-80’s. The worst part is, the husband likes it! Oh lawrdy no! So, I need to find a way to work with it, maybe screw it up and ‘have’ to pass it on.  Right now, I think I may need to take the mirror out, and bead board the entire inside, add shelves that go all the way across, and take off some of the funky details. Or maybe keep the mirror? I don’t know! AHHHH!

Camera 360

Camera 360

Lets focus on the curves and feet! Love it!

Camera 360

Thinking about sanding and re staining the top, and painting the body and maybe the hutch too?

Camera 360

Camera 360

Well, What would you do?

2 responses

  1. Rebecca

    Hi. My husband came home with almost the same dresser mirror combo! I redid the dresser for my daughter, she uses it as a credenza/tv stand. I painted it a bright coral color and took out a few drawers to accommodate her dvd player, etc. But that mirror. It sat in our breezeway for almost a year. I finally realized that with a few additions and a lot of sanding(!) it makes a fantastic man cave back bar. Looks like an old west mirrored bar! My husband is going to add little pendant lights hanging down, I will etch the mirror around the edge to look like an old fashion mirror, then I’ll add a vintage bottle opener, , varathane it, and done. I don’t want to keep it myself but there are a few of my husbands friends who will LOVE it for their shops. Let me know what you think.

    March 18, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    • That’s awesome! I ended up selling the top, didn’t have the energy to finish it. That’s awesome you made a bar from yours! I wish I had thought about that!

      March 20, 2013 at 6:49 pm

Leave a Reply

