An American Dream

Peacock Blue!

Its done! Took a few days trying to pick a color, and few more sanding, priming and painting and glazing.

To my surprise it was my husband who picked such a bold finish! If you know my husband, he claims “I don’t care if you use shoe laces for cupboard pulls, but have an opinion on everyone you look at!” So I started showing him a few of my favorite paint jobs on dresser. Figured he would want me to just stain it one color, cherry or paint it white. Boy was I surprised. I showed him a few green, and red dressers. Then I found a stunning blue dresser on Pinterest. A Peacock blue dresser at that, distressed and lovely.

This is a very basic how I did it.

So I sanded the entire thing down. Stained the top ‘Bombay Mahogany.’ (It’s a pain in the arse tinted varnish by minwax. Don’t let them convince you its stain and poly in one.)  Once that was dry I let it sit a day to harden. Then I flipped the dresser so I could get the feet, and sides evenly painted. This took about 4 coats since the paint is a dark saturated color. Make sure to lightly sand between each coat. Once I finished painting I gave a light sanding in certain places. Wiped it clean than ragged on the Minwax Polyshades (I had done the top in) over the places I sanded. I gave It a few days to dry and off-gas before moving it back into my room.

I left the pulls alone. Just scrubbed some of the grime off and polished parts of them. I wanted to keep them old-looking.  I almost painted the a silver color. But the old brass looked stunning against that rich blue. At least I thought so.

Stain is

Minwax Polyshades Bombay Mahogany

Paint Is

Peacock Tail by Behr

0ca6d1d0-5da5-41e8-8303-e94ae824a276_300

Photo time Yo!

2013 088

2013 046

2013 067

2013 065

Out of sunlight they look like a much deeper blue

dresser2

dresser

2013 111

A Few Before Shots!

Camera 360

Camera 360

4 responses

  1. Love that color! Really takes the 70’s out of the piece. I was looking at your other posts and I am truly impressed with how you can stretch a dollar and make everything beautiful. Love love love!

    January 4, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    • Thank you! I learned from my mom and grandma. They always said “In this house nothing is Victorian, cottage or modern. Its ‘Early Salvation Army!” Guess I grew up knowing how to make something work because I had too! 🙂

      January 5, 2013 at 11:51 am

  2. Love the redo! You did a fabulous job! Isn’t it so fun turning something ugly into something amazing?

    January 4, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    • One of the best feelings ever! 🙂

      January 5, 2013 at 11:51 am

Leave a Reply

